Picture of BSEyearEndBanquet

Every Spring the entire BSE community – undergraduates, graduates, faculty, staff, senior design sponsors, friends, and family – joins together to celebrate the many and varied accomplishments of our department during the previous academic year. This year, our celebration included final Senior Design presentations, dinner, and awards in the Owens Hall Banquet Room.


Several senior design teams were recognized for exceptional performance. This year’s first place winners spent their senior year working on “Automating the Rametrix Screen for Chronic Kidney Disease” and included Deysi Camacho, Maddy Carroll, Lindsay Dennis, Sara Eubanks, and Kellan Hagwood. Two teams were tied for second place: “Bench Top System for Focused Ultrasound-based Timber DNA Extraction” (Garrett Craft, Andrew Penshorn, Elijah Rinaldi, and Richard  Yea) and “Process Design to Convert Grape Pomace to Powder Supplement” (Anna Dipietro, Chauncey Gatling, Aaron Tillar, and Mary Tovillo). These student teams receive cash awards in recognition of their accomplishments thanks to funds provided by Saied and Patti Mostaghimi.


The ASABE student branch celebrated students from each academic year who were particularly dedicated to the success of the chapter, including Jill Grzelak and Zach Novak (Outstanding Sophomores), Kate Johnson (Outstanding Junior), and Elizabeth Pratt (Outstanding Senior).


Finally, students were selected by the BSE Honorifics for their outstanding academic performance and university involvement. This year’s awardees included Christine Ash for Outstanding Senior, Kate Johnson for Outstanding Junior, and Rachel Lake for Outstanding Sophomore. Laura Hanzly was recognized as Outstanding Doctoral Student, and Hannah Patton was recognized as Outstanding Masters Student.


We look forward to reconvening in August as a community at our Welcome Back picnic to kick off a new year of success!