Muneer Ahammad
Ph.D. Student
muneer@vt.edu    
Focus Area: River morphology, Sediment transport in watershed scale
Advisor: Jonathan Czuba, Assistant Professor

Syed Ali
Ph.D. Student
syedaa@vt.edu
Focus Area: 
Advisor: Venkat Sridhar, Assistant Professor

Charles Aquilina
M.S. Student
aqua@vt.edu
Focus Area: Stream analysis using drone based LiDAR 
Advisor: Cully Hession, Professor

Emily Berg
M.S. Student
bemily15@vt.edu
Focus Area: Cell-free metabolic engineering with E. coli lysate
Advisor: Ryan Senger, Associate Professor

Elyce Buell
Ph.D. Student
ebuell@vt.edu
Focus Area:
Advisor: Zachary Easton, Associate Professor and Extension Specialist

Hunter Flick
M.S. Student
jfhunter@vt.edu
Focus Area: Synthetic biology: Metabolic engineering of yeast to produce value-added proteins
Advisor: Ryan Senger, Associate Professor

Laura Hanzly
Davenport Leadership Scholar
Ph.D. Student
lehanzly@vt.edu

Focus Area: Biomaterial engineering
Advisor: Justin Barone, Associate Professor

Elizabeth Hickman
M.S. Student
elizalh@vt.edu

Focus Area: Improvement of design guidance for in-stream structures used in stream restoration

Advisor: Tess Wynn Thompson, Associate Professor & Turner Faculty Fellow

Yihuai Hu
M.S. Student
hyh@vt.edu
Focus Area: 
Advisor: Jactone Ogejo, Associate Professor and Extension Specialist

Herbert Huttanus
Ph.D. Student
berthutt@vt.edu

Focus Area: Synthetic Biology: Metabolic Engineering of yeast to produce pharmaceuticals

Advisor: Ryan Senger, Associate Professor

John Ignosh
Ph.D. Student
jignosh@vt.edu
Focus Area: Agricultural byproduct utilization, renewable energy, energy efficiency, nutrient management, extension programming, project analysis, and international development
Advisor: Jactone Ogejo, Associate Professor and Extension Specialist

Qualla Ketchum
Ph.D. Student
qualla@vt.edu

Focus Area: Groundwater-surface interactions and stream restoration
Advisor: Cully Hession, Professor

Taylor Lohneis
M.S. Student
taylorL2@vt.edu
Focus Area: Nanoparticle assisted protein folding
Advisor: Chenming (Mike) Zhang, Professor

Yi Lu
Ph.D. Student
lewislu@vt.edu

Focus Area: PRRS Vaccine Development
Advisor: Chenming (Mike) Zhang, Professor

Cristina Marcillo
Ph.D. Student
cem101@vt.edu

Focus Area: Land use change, public health, and environmental engineering
Advisor:  Leigh-Anne Krometis, Associate Professor

Morgan McCarthy
M.S. Student
mccartma@vt.edu
Focus Area: Modeling consumptive water use  over multiple spatial scales and water use sectors in Virginia
Advisor:  Julie Shortridge, Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist

Parthkumar Modi
M.S. Student
parth17@vt.edu
Focus Area: 
Advisor:  Venkat Sridhar, Assistant Professor

Alireza Moghaddasi
Ph.D. Student
amoghaddasi@vt.edu
Focus Area: 
Advisor:  Julie Shortridge, Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist

Mohammad Nayeb Yazdi
Ph.D. Student
mnyazdi@vt.edu

Focus Area: Developing and adapting regional water quality models, and assess the effects of BMPs in meeting TMDL goals
Advisor: David Sample, Associate Professor and Extension Specialist
Co-Advisor: Durelle Scott, Associate Professor

Hannah Patton
M.S. Student
hpatton@vt.edu
Focus Area: 
Advisor:  Leigh-Anne Krometis, Associate Professor

Kyle Saylor
Davenport Leadership Scholar
Ph.D. Student
saylor@vt.edu
Focus Area: Development and optimization of nanoliposome-protein coupled, nicotine vaccines, mathematical modeling of antibody effect on systemic drug concentrations, evaluation of adjuvant and bio-particle immunogenicity
Advisor: Chenming (Mike) Zhang, Professor

David Scherr
Ph.D. Student
dscherr7@vt.edu
Focus Area: 
Advisor: Ryan Senger, Associate Professor

Mina Shahed Behrouz
Ph.D. Student
minash@vt.edu
Focus Area: 
Advisor: David Sample, Associate Professor and Extension Specialist

Daniel Smith
Davenport Leadership Scholar
Ph.D. Student
dsmith36@vt.edu
Focus Area: 
Advisor: Tess Wynn Thompson, Associate Professor & Turner Faculty Fellow

Suraye Solis
M.S. Student
surayes@vt.edu
Focus Area: 
Advisor: Tess Wynn Thompson, Associate Professor & Turner Faculty Fellow

Sumaiya
Ph.D. Student
sumaiya18@vt.edu  
Focus Area: Sediment transport, river hydrodynamics, and river-floodplain interactions
Advisor: Jonathan Czuba, Assistant Professor

Imen Tanniche
Ph.D. Student
imentan@vt.edu

Focus Area: Biofuels, biology engineering
Advisor: Ryan Senger, Associate Professor

Prasanth Valayamkunnath
Ph.D. Student
pvk03@vt.edu

Focus Area: Earth systems modeling and climate impacts on hydrology and water resources
Advisor: Venkat Sridhar, Assistant Professor

Lauren Wind
Ph.D. Student
Interfaces of Global Change Fellow
wlauren@vt.edu
Focus Area: Environmental dissemination of antibiotic resistance; Antibiotic resistant bacteria (ARBs) and genes (ARGs); soil ecology; Human health and risk assessment

Advisor: Cully Hession, Professor
Co-Advisor: Leigh-Anne Krometis, Associate Professor

Samuel Withers
M.S. Student
samuelw2@vt.edu
Focus Area: 
Advisor: Tess Wynn Thompson, Associate Professor & Turner Faculty Fellow