Akinrotimi Akinola
Ph.D. Student

akinola1@vt.edu

Focus Area: Ecological engineering; fluvial processes
Advisor: Tess Thompson, Associate Professor

Nasrin Alamdari
Ph D. Student
alamdari@vt.edu

Focus Area: Development and application of GIS-aided water quality models and decision support systems (DSS) at different scales varying from a small urban catchment to a large basin
Advisor: David Sample, Associate Professor and Extension Specialist

Katherine Bland
Ph.D. Student
blandk@vt.edu

Focus Area: Synthetic biology and metabolic flux analysis
Advisor: Xueyang Feng, Assistant Professor

Emily Bock
Ph.D. Student
emilyml@vt.edu

Focus Area: Agricultural and nonpoint source BMPs, specifically harnessing natural biochemical processes to improve water quality
Advisor: Zachary Easton, Associate Professor and Extension Specialist

Bill Carswell
Ph.D. Student
cypher@vt.edu

Focus Area: Real-time phenotypic monitoring
Advisor: Ryan Senger, Associate Professor

Brady Coleman
M.S. Student
bscole@vt.edu

Focus Area: Development of pilot-scale and field-scale DNBRs; water quality improvement through enhanced nitrate and phosphate removal; GHG flux assessment
Advisor: Zachary Easton, Associate Professor and Extension Specialist

Morgan DiCarlo
M.S. Student
dicarlom@vt.edu

Focus Area:  Water Resources, climate impacts on water consumption
Advisor: Julie Shortridge, Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist

Frank Gillam
Ph.D. Student
fbgillam@vt.edu

Focus Area: Universal vaccine development for PRRSV
Advisor: Chenming (Mike) Zhang, Professor

Heather Govenor
Ph.D. Student
hgovenor@vt.edu

Focus Area: Watershed science and engineering, clean sediment impacts on aquatic life, environmental policy, ecological risk assessment
Advisor: Cully Hession, Professo
Co-Advisor: Leigh-Anne Krometis, Assistant Professor

Brittany Grutter
M.S. Student
bgrutter@vt.edu

Focus Area: UAV best practices in agriculture and watershed management

Advisor: Cully Hession, Professor

Pedro Ivo Guimaraes Braga de Silva
Ph.D. Student
pgbsilva@vt.edu

Focus Area: Metabolic engineering of cyanobacteria
Advisor: Ryan Senger, Associate Professor

Weihua Guo
Ph.D. Student
gweihua2@vt.edu

Focus Area: System biology, metabolic flux analysis, transcriptional analysis
Advisor: Xueyang Feng, Assistant Professor

Laura Hanzly
Davenport Scholar
Ph.D. Student
lehanzly@vt.edu

Focus Area: Biomaterial engineering
Advisor: Justin Barone, Associate Professor

Elizabeth Hickman
M.S. Student
elizalh@vt.edu

Focus Area: Improvement of design guidance for in-stream structures used in stream restoration

Advisor: Tess Thompson, Associate Professor

Stephanie Houston
Davenport Leadership Scholar
Ph.D. Student
houstons@vt.edu

Focus Area: Nutrient and sediment management
Advisor: Cully Hession, Professor

Rui Huang
Ph.D. Student
hrui2@vt.edu

Focus Area: Protein engineering, cofactor engineering and biofuel
Advisor: YiHeng Percival Zhang, Professor

Herbert Huttanus
Ph.D. Student
berthutt@vt.edu

Focus Area: Synthetic Biology: Metabolic Engineering of yeast to produce pharmaceuticals

Advisor: Xueyang Feng, Assistant Professor

John Ignosh
Ph.D. Student
jignosh@vt.edu
Focus Area: Agricultural byproduct utilization, renewable energy, energy efficiency, nutrient management, extension programming, project analysis, and international development
Advisor: Jactone Ogejo, Associate Professor and Extension Specialist

Kyle Jacobs
M.S. Student
kylebj8@vt.edu

Focuas Area: Ecological engineering, antibiotic resistance associated with agriculture and stormwater management
Advisor: Leigh-Anne Krometis, Assistant Professor

Hyunwoo Kang
Ph.D. Student
hwkang@vt.edu
Focus Area: Hydrologic assessment using distributed macro-scale modeling framework
Advisor: Venkat Sridhar, Assistant Professor

Mehdi Ketabchy
Ph.D. Student
kmehdi87@vt.edu

Focus Area: Research focused upon Sustainable Development in Urban Areas by LID/BMP tools, development of a computational model to support design of permeable pavements, experimental design and procedure in storm-water quality and quantity management by practices such as Permeable Pavements and Bioretention Systems
Advisor: David Sample, Associate Professor and Extension Specialist
Co-Advisor: Tess Wynn Thompson, Associate Professor & Turner Faculty Fellow

Qualla Ketchum
Ph.D. Student
qualla@vt.edu

Focus Area: Groundwater-surface interactions and stream restoration
Advisor: Cully Hession, Professor

Tyler Keys
Walts Scholar
Ph.D. Student
tkeys@vt.edu

Focus Area: Hydroecology and watershed management
Advisor: Durelle Scott, Associate Professor

Yi Lu
Ph.D. Student
lewislu@vt.edu

Focus Area: PRRS Vaccine Development
Advisor: Chenming (Mike) Zhang, Professor

Cristina Marcillo
Ph.D. Student
cem101@vt.edu

Focus Area: Land use change, public health, and environmental engineering
Advisor:  Leigh-Anne Krometis, Assistant Professor

Mohammad Nayeb Yazdi
Ph.D. Student
mnyazdi@vt.edu

Focus Area: Developing and adapting regional water quality models, and assess the effects of BMPs in meeting TMDL goals
Advisor: David Sample, Associate Professor and Extension Specialist
Co-Advisor: Durelle Scott, Associate Professor

Daniel Robinson
M.S. Student
djr91@vt.edu

Focus Area: Watershed science and engineering, application of best management practices (BMPs), improving BMP adoption and education through the Virginia Cooperative Extension
Advisor:  David Sample, Associate Professor and Extension Specialist

Madeline Ryan
M.S. Student
mfryan12@vt.edu

Focus Area: Hydroecology, watershed management, and spatial water quality
Advisor: Durelle Scott, Associate Professor

Kyle Saylor
Davenport Scholar
Ph.D. Student
saylor@vt.edu
Focus Area: Development and optimization of nanoliposome-protein coupled, nicotine vaccines, mathematical modeling of antibody effect on systemic drug concentrations, evaluation of adjuvant and bio-particle immunogenicity
Advisor: Chenming (Mike) Zhang, Professor

Teneil Sivells
M.S. Student
teneil@vt.edu

Focus Area: Ecological engineering, water quality and TMDL management

Advisor: Cully Hession, Professor

Imen Tanniche
Ph.D. Student
imentan@vt.edu

Focus Area: Biofuels, biology engineering
Advisor: Ryan Senger, Associate Professor

Madusanka Thilakarathne
Ph.D. Student
msanka18@vt.edu

Focus Area: Macro Scale Hydrological Modelling and Climate Change Impacts
Advisor: Venkat Sridhar, Assistant Professor

Prasanth Valayamkunnath
Ph.D. Student
pvk03@vt.edu

Focus Area: Earth systems modeling and climate impacts on hydrology and water resources
Advisor: Venkat Sridhar, Assistant Professor

Moges Wagena
Ph.D. Student
bwmoges4@vt.edu
Focus Area: Modeling the effect of climate change on hydrology and water quality at field and basin scale
Advisor: Zachary Easton, Associate Professor and Extension Specialist

Lauren Wind
M.S. Student
wlauren@vt.edu

Focus Area: Ecological Engineering, Soil and Water Chemistry, and Agricultural ARG Implications

Advisor: Cully Hession, Professor

Zongmin Zhao
Ph.D. Student
zmzhao@vt.edu

Focus Area: Nanotechnology based drug delivery for cancer therapy

Advisor: Chenming (Mike) Zhang, Professor