Akinrotimi Akinola
Ph.D. Student

akinola1@vt.edu

Focus Area: Ecological engineering; fluvial processes
Advisor: Tess Thompson, Associate Professor

Nasrin Alamdari
Ph D. Student
alamdari@vt.edu

Focus Area: Development and application of GIS-aided water quality models and decision support systems (DSS) at different scales varying from a small urban catchment to a large basin
Advisor: David Sample, Associate Professor and Extension Specialist

Syed Ali
Ph.D. Student
syedaa@vt.edu
Focus Area: 
Advisor: Venkat Sridhar, Assistant Professor

Katherine Bland
Ph.D. Student
blandk@vt.edu

Focus Area: Synthetic biology and metabolic flux analysis
Advisor: Xueyang Feng, Assistant Professor

Connor Brogan
M.S. Student
connorb5@vt.edu

Focus Area: 
Advisor: Durelle Scott, Associate Professor

Elyce Buell
Ph.D. Student
ebuell@vt.edu
Focus Area:
Advisor: Zachary Easton, Associate Professor and Extension Specialist

Bill Carswell
M.S. Student
cypher@vt.edu

Focus Area: Real-time phenotypic monitoring
Advisor: Ryan Senger, Associate Professor

Morgan DiCarlo
M.S. Student
dicarlom@vt.edu

Focus Area:  Water Resources, climate impacts on water consumption
Advisor: Julie Shortridge, Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist

Hunter Flick
M.S. Student
jfhunter@vt.edu
Focus Area: Synthetic biology: Metabolic engineering of yeast to produce value-added proteins
Advisor: Ryan Senger, Associate Professor

Pedro Ivo Guimaraes Braga de Silva
Ph.D. Student
pgbsilva@vt.edu

Focus Area: Metabolic engineering of cyanobacteria
Advisor: Ryan Senger, Associate Professor

Laura Hanzly
Davenport Leadership Scholar
Ph.D. Student
lehanzly@vt.edu

Focus Area: Biomaterial engineering
Advisor: Justin Barone, Associate Professor

Elizabeth Hickman
M.S. Student
elizalh@vt.edu

Focus Area: Improvement of design guidance for in-stream structures used in stream restoration

Advisor: Tess Wynn Thompson, Associate Professor & Turner Faculty Fellow

Stephanie Houston
Davenport Leadership Scholar
Ph.D. Student
houstons@vt.edu

Focus Area: Nutrient and sediment management
Advisor: Cully Hession, Professor

Yihuai Hu
M.S. Student
hyh@vt.edu
Focus Area: 
Advisor: Jactone Ogejo, Associate Professor and Extension Specialist

Herbert Huttanus
Ph.D. Student
berthutt@vt.edu

Focus Area: Synthetic Biology: Metabolic Engineering of yeast to produce pharmaceuticals

Advisor: Xueyang Feng, Assistant Professor

John Ignosh
Ph.D. Student
jignosh@vt.edu
Focus Area: Agricultural byproduct utilization, renewable energy, energy efficiency, nutrient management, extension programming, project analysis, and international development
Advisor: Jactone Ogejo, Associate Professor and Extension Specialist

Hyunwoo Kang
Ph.D. Student
hwkang@vt.edu
Focus Area: Hydrologic assessment using distributed macro-scale modeling framework
Advisor: Venkat Sridhar, Assistant Professor

Mehdi Ketabchy
M.S. Student
kmehdi87@vt.edu

Focus Area: Sustainable Development in Urban Areas; Evaluation of stream thermal processes; application of BM/LIDs to mitigate development effects during high-intensity storm events; Utilizing a hybrid approach to simulate heat loads.
Advisor: David Sample, Associate Professor and Extension Specialist
Co-Advisor: Tess Wynn Thompson, Associate Professor & Turner Faculty Fellow

Qualla Ketchum
Ph.D. Student
qualla@vt.edu

Focus Area: Groundwater-surface interactions and stream restoration
Advisor: Cully Hession, Professor

Tyler Keys
Walts Scholar
Ph.D. Student
tkeys@vt.edu

Focus Area: Hydroecology and watershed management
Advisor: Durelle Scott, Associate Professor

Yi Lu
Ph.D. Student
lewislu@vt.edu

Focus Area: PRRS Vaccine Development
Advisor: Chenming (Mike) Zhang, Professor

Cristina Marcillo
Ph.D. Student
cem101@vt.edu

Focus Area: Land use change, public health, and environmental engineering
Advisor:  Leigh-Anne Krometis, Associate Professor

Morgan McCarthy
M.S. Student
mccartma@vt.edu
Focus Area: Climate change and its impacts on water resources
Advisor:  Julie Shortridge, Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist

Parthkumar Modi
M.S. Student
parth17@vt.edu
Focus Area: 
Advisor:  Venkat Sridhar, Assistant Professor

Mohammad Nayeb Yazdi
Ph.D. Student
mnyazdi@vt.edu

Focus Area: Developing and adapting regional water quality models, and assess the effects of BMPs in meeting TMDL goals
Advisor: David Sample, Associate Professor and Extension Specialist
Co-Advisor: Durelle Scott, Associate Professor

Hannah Patton
M.S. Student
hpatton@vt.edu
Focus Area: 
Advisor:  Leigh-Anne Krometis, Associate Professor

Daniel Robinson
M.S. Student
djr91@vt.edu

Focus Area: Watershed science and engineering, application of best management practices (BMPs), improving BMP adoption and education through the Virginia Cooperative Extension
Advisor:  David Sample, Associate Professor and Extension Specialist

Madeline Ryan
M.S. Student
mfryan12@vt.edu

Focus Area: Hydroecology, watershed management, and spatial water quality
Advisor: Durelle Scott, Associate Professor

Kyle Saylor
Davenport Leadership Scholar
Ph.D. Student
saylor@vt.edu
Focus Area: Development and optimization of nanoliposome-protein coupled, nicotine vaccines, mathematical modeling of antibody effect on systemic drug concentrations, evaluation of adjuvant and bio-particle immunogenicity
Advisor: Chenming (Mike) Zhang, Professor

David Scherr
Ph.D. Student
dscherr7@vt.edu
Focus Area: 
Advisor: Ryan Senger, Associate Professor

Teneil Sivells
M.S. Student
teneil@vt.edu

Focus Area: Ecological engineering, water quality and TMDL management

Advisor: Cully Hession, Professor

Daniel Smith
Davenport Leadership Scholar
Ph.D. Student
dsmith36@vt.edu
Focus Area: 
Advisor: Tess Wynn Thompson, Associate Professor & Turner Faculty Fellow

Suraye Solis
M.S. Student
surayes@vt.edu
Focus Area: 
Advisor: Tess Wynn Thompson, Associate Professor & Turner Faculty Fellow

Imen Tanniche
Ph.D. Student
imentan@vt.edu

Focus Area: Biofuels, biology engineering
Advisor: Ryan Senger, Associate Professor

Madusanka Thilakarathne
Ph.D. Student
msanka18@vt.edu

Focus Area: Macro Scale Hydrological Modelling and Climate Change Impacts
Advisor: Venkat Sridhar, Assistant Professor

Prasanth Valayamkunnath
Ph.D. Student
pvk03@vt.edu

Focus Area: Earth systems modeling and climate impacts on hydrology and water resources
Advisor: Venkat Sridhar, Assistant Professor

Moges Wagena
Ph.D. Student
bwmoges4@vt.edu
Focus Area: Modeling the effect of climate change on hydrology and water quality at field and basin scale
Advisor: Zachary Easton, Associate Professor and Extension Specialist

Lauren Wind
Ph.D. Student
Interfaces of Global Change Fellow
wlauren@vt.edu
Focus Area: Environmental dissemination of antibiotic resistance; Antibiotic resistant bacteria (ARBs) and genes (ARGs); soil ecology; Human health and risk assessment

Advisor: Cully Hession, Professor
Co-Advisor: Leigh-Anne Krometis, Associate Professor